As a CMMC RPO, Assura can provide guidance to organizations seeking CMMC certification. Simply put, we help you with two critical steps. First, we review your organization’s cybersecurity measures and identify what policies and solutions you need to achieve the CMMC certification level you’re pursuing. Then, we work with you to implement whatever measures are necessary, alleviating the stress that comes with doing it all yourself. 

How Assura helps you with your CMMC certification 

For 14 years, Assura has helped organizations of all sizes prepare for and implement the solutions and safeguards mandated by various compliance frameworks, standards and regulations. Not only is it work that we’re passionate about, we’re also really good at it. We have the tools and templates in place to quickly get your organization where it needs to be for CMMC compliance. 

What is CMMC and who needs CMMC certification? 

CMMC is the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification developed by the Department of Defense (DoD)The maturity model is made up of five ascending levels, ranging from basic cybersecurity hygiene to advanced, optimized cybersecurity measures implemented across an organization.   

Certification Levels Practices Processes
Level 1 (17 Practices and Processes) Basic Cyber Hygiene Performed
Level 2 (+55 Practices and Processes) Intermediate Cyber Hygiene Documented
Level 3 (+59 Practices and Processes) Good Cyber Hygiene Managed
Level 4 (+26 Practices and Processes) Proactive Reviewed
Level 5 (+16 Practices and Processes) Advanced/Progressive Optimized

Its purpose is to ensure that DoD contractors and subcontractors with access to Federal Contract Information (FCI) and/or Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) have the appropriate cybersecurity safeguards and policies in place for their respective compliance level. Future RFPs and RFIs will indicate what level of CMMC is required for the project.  

Companies that don’t handle FCI and CUI and those that solely use Commercial-Off-The-Shelf (COTS) products (e.g., Microsoft or other software providers) do not have to comply with CMMC.   

How do you become CMMC certified and by when do you need it? 

To get CMMC certified, your organization must have its cybersecurity program assessed by a Certified Third-Party Assessor Organization (C3PAO). Prior to this assessment, organizations can work with RPOs like Assura to have their cybersecurity program reviewed to identify what additions may be necessary to meet each CMMC level’s requirements. 

Starting spring 2021, the DoD will begin a phased rollout of CMMC over the next few years. By 2025, all DoD contracts will mandate CMMC compliance.  

Why trust Assura with your CMMC certification preparation? 

Our philosophy always has been to meet organizations where they are on their cybersecurity journey and to help them get to their destination. Depending on an organization’s existing cybersecurity measures, the concept of even achieving Level 1 compliance can be overwhelming.  

We work with your team to review your organization’s cybersecurity program to identify what measures are needed to achieve your desired CMMC certification level. Beyond identifying those required steps, we also work with your team to implement any needed policies and solutions to ensure everything is in place.  

Assura is uniquely qualified to partner with your organization to aid in your CMMC certification.  Assura has a rich history of working in the government sector and holds a number of state contracts that are available for use by public and private organizations. 

Need the counsel of a CMMC RPO to prepare your organization for its certification? Let Assura help.

Contact Us